PITTSBURGH, PA - Joyce A. Bender has been selected by the National Easter Seals Board of Directors to receive the 2006 Easter Seals Distinguished Service Award. This award is given to individuals whose sustained efforts have had a significant, nationwide impact on the quality of life for people with disabilities. Past winners include: Senator Lowell Weicker (1986); Senator Robert Dole (1987); Edward Mattei, FAIA, (1990); Safeway Inc. Chairman Peter Magowan (1991); Rehabilitation International President Fenmore R. Seton (1992); Justin Dart, Jr. (1993); Tony Coelho (1994); Judith E. Heumann (1996); David Hoppe (1997); Senator Dale Bumbers (1998); Ginny Thornburgh (2002); California First Lady Maria Shriver (2004), and Eunice Kennedy Shriver (2005). The awards ceremony will be held on October 12, 2006, at a luncheon during the Easter Seals National Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada.